Grid Composition | C&D Assessment

At this stage, we were asked to take inspiration from the Pinterest board ‘Grid’ and to explore different compositional strategies to create a new sequence of images.

Here I played around with the idea of collage and random, yet deliberate composition, combining all of my works into one sequence. After feedback from Richard and the class, however, I began to rethink my sequence and decide which ones I required and which ones I didn’t. This will become evident in my final works post.

At this point, though, I was working with all of my works, figuring out how to include different compositional strategies.

Here they are:

Here I continued the rectangular composition that I implemented in the first sequence, This time utilising some more ‘outside the box’ techniques such as breaking the borders with parts of shapes etc. (in the vein of collage). Although these are technically ‘digital collages’, the digital element was only utilised to aid in the iterative part of this task. Most of the features were either hand-drawn or scanned onto the computer. I think that continuing this grid composition but making it a bit more random enabled me to create more appealing and deep works. I also continued to work in the foreground, although there is overlap in the collaged works.

Leave a comment